This week I’m baking – Halloween Cake Pops

DSC_0521_2

If you hadn’t guessed from my very premature Halloween pumpkin soup post, I love Halloween. Reasons? I love a good old theme and Halloween means that it’s one step closer to Christmas; i.e. my prime time and what I prepare for, for about 364 days of the year! What do I do when I get excited about something? Make cake pops, of course! Examples of this can be seen here and here and here. I made spooky pumpkin and Jack Skellington cake pops, which I think turned out looking cute rather than scary! Here’s how I made them:

Ingredients:

  • Cake (chocolate or plain)
  • Icing (icing sugar, cream cheese and unsalted butter)
  • Cake pop sticks
  • Orange and/or white candy melts
  • Apple tic-tacs
  • Royal icing (black food colouring, egg whites, icing sugar)
  1. Bake a chocolate or plain victoria sponge cake, or for you cheaters out there, buy a ready-made cake (shame on you!). I baked a chocolate cake, as they usually tend to taste better but the downside is that the dark colour can show through  the white chocolate.
  2. I see a lot of YouTube videos and recipes showing how to transform the cake into crumbs – they say to rub two halves of the cake together. However, I don’t recommend this method as the crumbs go absolutely everywhere and it takes ages! My way is to give the cake a little whiz in the food processor. 3 seconds and you have cake crumbs – what magic!
  3. Add the icing to the crumbs, bit by bit so you can control how much icing you need to make the balls.
  4. Place the cake ball in the freezer for 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile melt the orange or white candy melt in the microwave.
  5. Dip the sticks into the melted chocolate and place into each cake ball to help them stick together. Let this set for 5 minutes.
  6. Dip the whole cake pop into the chocolate, let excess chocolate dip off and add an apple tic tac (for pumpkin cake pops). Let the chocolate dry before adding the features.
  7. For the features I made royal icing (egg whites and icing sugar), added black food colouring and piped the features on with a number 2 Wilton tip.

halloween cake pops

About Ashumi

20-something year old, born & bred in London. Likes roaming around museums, baking cakes and strongly believes in the power of retail therapy.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This week I’m baking – Halloween Cake Pops

  1. Tulsi says:

    Very Spooky!

Leave a Reply

