This week I’m baking – olive bread

olive breadIf you know me, you’ll know that olives are one of my favourite foods. When I was younger, I used to sit in front of the TV with a jar of olives and finish the whole jar by the time SMTV Live was over. Who needs popcorn eh? I decided to make olive bread – one of my favourite types of bread, for obvious reasons.

Besides making roti (chapati) I have never made bread before so this was my first attempt and I was very surprised at how easy and quick it was. The only long thing about it was the boredom waiting for it to rise, but this was nothing a little Friends episode couldn’t fix!

This one was a crowd pleaser – the crowd being my family. We had it with some balsamic vinegar and olive oil and to keep with the Mediterranean theme, we had spaghetti for mains.

200 ml of warm water
2 teaspoons of dry yeast
3 1/4 cups of plain flour
1 teaspoon of sea salt
2 teaspoons of sugar
4 teaspoons of olive oil
150 grams of black olives
additional flour

Preparation:

In a large bowl, combine flour, salt, sugar, and oil and mix. Add water/yeast mixture and knead on a lightly floured surface until the dough is smooth and doesn’t stick to hands.

Form dough into a large round loaf, cover with a light kitchen towel and allow to prove for 40 minutes in a warm place.

Punch down the dough, add olives, and knead until the olives are distributed throughout the dough.

Preheat oven to 200°C.

Divide dough into 2 equal parts and form into loaf shapes. Score the top of each loaf in 3 or 4 places, place on a floured baking pan (well spaced out) in warm place, lightly covered, and allow to prove for about 20 minutes.

Bake on the middle rack for about 20 minutes. TIP – Tap on the bottom and if the loaf sounds hollow it’s done.IMG_4529  IMG_4531

About Ashumi

20-something year old, born & bred in London. Likes roaming around museums, baking cakes and strongly believes in the power of retail therapy.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This week I’m baking – olive bread

  1. Pingback: Ap-stagram | custard creams and london dreams

  2. Tulsi says:

    I am so trying this this weekend! These pictures are making me crave it. Just one question about the dough, how long did you knead it for?

Leave a Reply

