Bath time fun

For fellow Londoners like myself, it’s fairly easy to fall into a habit of staying within the 5 zones of London and forgetting about the rest of the UK. However, I decided to make more of an effort to explore the UK and so my family and I spent the Easter bank holiday getting to know Bath. Ok…I lie…I dragged them there so I could finally see the Roman Baths and have a bit of a Classics geek out.
 
First of all, I have to say – I love Bath! I never thought I’d like a city in England this much, (besides London obviously) but it has that cobbled streets, European feel to it, with gorgeous Georgian architecture everywhere you turn.the circus bath
 
The Roman Baths
 
We started off our little adventure at the Roman Baths. It was amazing!! Now before you stop reading, in fear that I will go off on a tangent and talk about how wonderful Classics is, don’t worry I have already been warned not to do! All I will say is that there is something quite fascinating about walking the same steps as people over 2,000 years ago. Ok maybe that’s just me.
 
You get an audio guide with your ticket, which lasts about an hour and a half, but if you’re in a hurry to explore the rest of Bath (the city, not the tub), then you can skip the parts that bore you. Obviously I didn’t skip any, because nothing to do with Classics is boring…oh my poor family!roman bathsroman bathsroman baths

The Jane Austen Centre 
 
We then went to the Jane Austen Centre, where you can learn more about Jane’s life and find out what she got up to when she lived in the city.
 
It starts off with a short talk about life in the Regency period and how Jane’s time in Bath affected both her life and her writing. Then visitors are invited to the exhibition room where clothes and other artefacts from the Regency period are displayed. There is even a chance to try on a Regency costume – a great Instagram opportunity!
 
After all that learning, you can have a tea break in the Regency Tea Room and have ‘Tea with Mr Darcy’! Before you get too excited and start thinking that this has something to do with Colin Firth, let me stop you right there…it doesn’t. It’s sadly just the name of the tea served, but the centre do compensate for this loss by hanging a portrait of Mr Darcy in the restaurant, so it’s almost the same thing!jane austen centre assembly rooms bathassembly rooms bath

What I wore:

zara parka wedge trainers ootdpolka dot pastel manicurezara wedged trainers sneakers_MG_4283parka – Zara, top – Petit Bateau, trousers – Urban Outfitters, wedge trainers – Zara, ring – Forever 21

Hope you all had a happy Easter.xx

About Ashumi

20-something year old, born & bred in London. Likes roaming around museums, baking cakes and strongly believes in the power of retail therapy.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Museums, Style. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bath time fun

  1. Kylie says:

    Bath is so amazing, I would agree it is one of my favourite places in the UK. I love that first glimpse of the city when you are driving down. Beautiful photos xx

Leave a Reply

