Imli

I’ve heard mixed reviews about this restaurant on Wardour Street, but I am pleased to tell you that I thought it was shu-mazing* (hello new word!). Being Indian and going to countless Indian restaurants in central and north London means that I am an experienced critic of all things curry (only veggie though, sorry!). As I had realised that I had unintentionally completed Dry January due to the lack of going out, we immediately ordered some cocktails, which were 2 for 1 so double the fun (Dad joke alert).

I always find that the starters are better than the mains in Indian cuisine, but these starter dishes exceeded all my expectations! The one dish that I would really recommend is the grilled paneer and broccoli. I can never go to an Indian restaurant without ordering paneer; it’s my safe option, however I was a bit apprehensive about paneer being teamed with broccoli, but trust me it’s surprisingly scrumptious. I am a very fussy eater, so if I liked it, you are guaranteed to love it.  Unfortunately I couldn’t take pictures of all the dishes because the Kotecha cousins are like Monica from Friends – if you don’t eat fast, you don’t eat! So here is a selection of some of the starters we ordered.

All in all, I will definitely be visiting Imli again in the near future.

Shu-mazing factor – 8/10

* Shu-mazing: an adaptation of Nicole Scherzinger’s phrase Schmazing. No copyright infringement intended. 🙂imliimliLychee delight

a few of the starters

Papdi chaat

Papdi chaat
Aloo Matar ki Tikki Ragdo

Aloo Matar ki Tikki Ragdo

The famous grilled paneer and broccoli

The famous grilled paneer and broccoli

About Ashumi

20-something year old, born & bred in London. Likes roaming around museums, baking cakes and strongly believes in the power of retail therapy.
This entry was posted in Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Imli

  1. Kylie says:

    Oooo I love Indian cuisine. Not sure if you have been to the Dishoom? its nice there. I love the décor here. Xx

  2. Ashumi says:

    I love Dishoom! Try the Thumbs Up float next time you go, it sounds gross but definitely worth a try. I love your blog, been reading it for months xx

Leave a Reply

